Staycation and My Summer Reading List

Due to a series of unfortunate events, which involved a Chicago pot hole and a bad neighborhood, I’m now a couple hundred bucks poorer. So, in order to let my savings recuperate, I’ve decided not to go anywhere this summer, skipping my plans to attend San Diego Comic-Con or PAX Prime. Instead, I’ll just go on a staycation. Lollapalooza, since it’s held right where I’m at, is still an option. But with the recent random mob attacks in the city, I’m not sure if I want to go anymore.

What I’m sure of, however, is that I’ll read a lot of books this summer. Earlier this year, I told myself that I’ll read at least 30 books this 2011. Not a lot. But, budget and time wise, that’s all I can afford. Even so, we are already half way in 2011 and I’ve only managed to read two. So, to catch up, I’m gonna use my staycation days and read at least 14 books this Summer (June 20 to September 20).

Here are some of the books that I want to read:

The Back Logs

1. The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss
2. Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner
3. Everything Matters by Ron Currie Jr.
4. Great House: A Novel by Nicole Krauss
5. His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik

The C-Note: $100 worth of books

I know that I’m not suppose to splurge. But, this time, I’m going to turn my cheek away from frugality and spend $100 on books this Summer. $100 is actually nothing compared to the cost I’ll spend on a trip to San Diego or Seattle and attend geeky conventions.

6. Robocalypse by Daniel H. Wilson ($13)
7. Machine Man by Max Barry($10)
8. Embassytown by China Mieville ($13)
9. Feast For Crows by George R.R. Martin ($9)
10. A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin ($15)
11. Supergods by Grant Morrison ($14)
12. Pariah by Bob Fingerman ($10)
13. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin ($8)
14. Feed by Mira Grant ($8)

That’s my list, and it really looks different since I have a lot of fantasy on it. Normally, the books that I read are sci-fi, non-fiction (science and history) and some contemporary literature. I stopped reading fantasy long ago. But, I guess, playing RIFT and watching A Game of Thrones lured me back into reading the genre.

Anyways, I’m really excited to get this thing going. Hopefully, I’d be able to finish these books before Fall rolls in.

4 Responses to Staycation and My Summer Reading List

  1. Nice! I guess if you have The Wise Man’s Fear on your to-read list then you’ve also read The Name of the Wind. Most likely you won’t be disappointed, I read WMF and liked it even more than its predecessor!

    The Temaire series has also been on my to-read list since forever. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is actually next on my list, I figure as soon as I finish polishing off the rest of the Dresden books on my Dresden Files marathon.

    • Skron says:

      I’m about to finish reading The Name of the Wind –although I could’ve finished this months ago– and I’m already eager to start with WMF.

      The Temaire Series, I don’t know anything about this title. I just got a mass market paperback of the first book for free when I went to C2E2 convention last year. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms was also on everybody’s Best Book of 2010, and it was cheap enough for me so I included it on my list. But I’m glad that you’re also interested in these books. That means that they won’t be bad.

  2. the scud says:

    wow. 30 books! i plan only to read a minimum of 12.

    • Skron says:

      Dude, 30 books are nothing. Some people from goodreads.com took the challenge to read 100 books this year. Some of them are already 70% towards their goal!

Leave a Reply

