460

GTX 460 SE. My new graphics card.

Finally, my computer is now back in working order (or should I say “gaming order” since I don’t really use it for work?). I actually thought I won’t be able to game on my PC until the mid-summer. But luck smiled on me because I found, bid and won a brand new GeForce GTX 460 SE on eBay for $107, and saved about $40.

Although, originally, I was looking for the plain GTX 460, not the SE version (aka the cheap, dumb version). But the deal was just too sweet to pass up. Besides, I wasn’t really trying to upgrade my video card. I was only looking to replace my 9800, which died on me a couple weeks ago. So, the GTX 460 SE was more than what I asked for.  It was cheaper than what I had wanted, and better than what I had before.

I had a hard time installing the card though. Because the old card, the 9800, won’t come off from its slot. Apparently, the tab which secures the old card was too small for my fat fingers to reach. So, I have to carefully push the tab with the point of a small screw driver with all the finesse I could muster –because I could slip and end up scraping the face of my motherboard. But, in the end, or four hours later, I managed to unhinge the dead old card and let the GTX 460 sit into its rightful slot.

I haven’t thoroughly tested the card yet. Right now, however, it’s working fine. I just spent a few hours playing The Witcher 2 (which is an awesome game) and I got an average of 40 fps at 1680 x 1050 with high graphics settings. I want to try playing RIFT with it. Because I really miss the game. But I’d rather finish The Witcher 2 first. So, at the moment, I guess I’ll leave myself wanting RIFT.

Leave a Reply

