Backlist and Blues Licks

Marvel's Backlist Reading Chronology and the Beginner Fingerstyle Blues Guitar

With my gaming rig down for the time being, I’m left with a lot of spare time in my hands. I know this is only temporary. Because when I replace the broken graphics card of my PC, all the time I have right now will be squandered into playing RIFT. So, I want to take advantage of this free time right now and use it to fuel two projects: (1) read the Marvel comics backlist and (2) learn to play fingerstyle blues guitar.

As a recent returnee to comic books, there’s a huge hole in my knowledge regarding the DC and Marvel universes. I wanted to fill that hole ever since I started reading again. But, the problem is, I didn’t know where to begin. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of collected trades in the market. Trying to figure out where to start or how to read the trades in a chronological order is a disaster.

Luckily, Marvel released a reading backlist. Since it only cost for a buck, I jumped at it right away. It’s a pretty handy tool to have. It has all the collected trades that Marvel has ever printed, and they also listed it in a chronological order. So, if you want to follow the story of Thor from the very beginning to the most recent one, you can easily do so with the help of this backlist.

So, what I’m going to do is: I’m going to go through most (not all) of the trades listed in the backlist, starting with Spider-Man. I can only spare $20 a month though, which affords me 3 trades every 2 months. The going will be slow. But it’ll be fun.

As for the other project, I’m going to try and learn fingerstyle blues. Besides playing heavy riffs and learning the scales, I’ve never really done anything else as a guitarist (though I never really should call myself that). So, when I saw the book, Beginning Fingerstyle Blues Guitar, which was on sale for $5 at Borders, I just grabbed it and never looked back.

The book seems easy enough to follow. It has tablatures and an audio CD that includes all the licks and exercises. Right now, I’m at the very beginning of the book where I’m doing some exercises for my picking hand. I have to say, for a guy who never used fingers for picking, this is not as easy as I thought it would be.

So, those are my two projects right now. I’m sure they’ll keep me occupied, for the meantime, while my PC is down. I’m going to review each trade I’ve knock down from my backlist in here. I’m also going to find a way to record my blues licks and post it here. That way I could gauge my progress.

Leave a Reply

