9800 Death: RIFT Hiatus

I was turning in a couple of daily quests in RIFT when it dawned on me. I haven’t done anything else, besides play RIFT, since last February.

Not that I’m complaining. I love RIFT, mind you. I’m also grateful that it keeps me so preoccupied, saving me from spending money on things that’ll temporary save me from boredom. But there’s that gnawing feeling deep within me every time I look at my untouched guitar, neglected PS3 games and unread graphic novels. A feeling of guilt brought on by my frivolity. I wished that I’d be able to make time for them, every time I see them.

Then, the next day, just as I was about to update RIFT into version 1.2, my graphics card (GeForce 9800 GT) died. Leaving me unable to play not only RIFT but also all of my PC games.

I was in denial, at first. So, I attempted to “fix” my dead card. I downloaded various drivers for it, hoping that a certain version would fix my dead card. After an hour, I realized that my card was beyond repair, and that this incident was exactly what I just asked for –a time off of RIFT.

I still have 5 more months with my subscription in RIFT. So, I’ll definitely come back to the game. I just don’t know when though. Right now, I can’t afford a new graphics card. But, for the meantime, I’m just gonna knock some items off from my swelling book, comics and games backlog.

Leave a Reply

