Mastodon at the Aragon

Woodstock ’99 was the last concert video I saw at the comfort of my couch. This was 12 years ago, and I’ve never done this ever since because: a) I can now watch a real live concert whenever I want to; and b) watching live concert on your TV is just depressing. Although, recently, I did get Mastodon’s live DVD, Mastodon: Live at the Aragon. But I only bought the DVD because I’m more of a Mastodon completionist. I wasn’t really dying to see the band play on my TV. However, that’s not to say I didn’t enjoy the DVD.

This DVD really captured how awesome Mastodon is when they’re playing live. Even though their music is pretty complex, their performance here didn’t falter even once. They stayed tight from start to end, not missing a note on all their songs. Which just shows you that they really are excellent musicians. The vocals, however, seems drowned out. Although I’m not so sure if its the result of a crappy editing or if my TV speakers really suck that much. Other than that though, the sound and video quality of this DVD is amazing.

However, I’m a bit disappointed with it too. Because I was expecting this DVD to give me a heck of a show. But all it ever did was show Mastodon playing a full set of Crack The Skye, some songs from their old album and a Melvin’s cover song. Now, there’s nothing wrong with that. But there were no stage theatrics, trash talking the crowd and other things that’ll make you feel you’re part of the concert. Worst of all, there are no solos. I was at least expecting to see Brann Dailor showing off his insane skills on the drum set.

But, overall, Mastodon: Live at the Aragon is awesome. Just don’t expect too much out of it though because it’s no Guns N’ Roses: Live in Tokyo. It doesn’t have instrumental solos or other weird outtakes that you usually see in concerts. But if you’re a big Mastodon fan, who only wants to see them live at any time, then this DVD is perfect to add to your collection.

Score: B-

Leave a Reply

