Oh No! I Bought DCUO!

Hoodlum, my DCUO villain, apprentice of The Joker.

I’m still a noob at being frugal, I admit. While I’ve been spending less in the past couple of months, I’m still prone to impulsive buying whenever I have the spare change. Case in point, I bought DC Universe Online today. I bought it even though I’ve already mapped out the games I’m going to play this year. I bought it even though RIFT: Planes of Telara, which I’ve already pre-ordered, is just around the corner. To make matters worse, I also got the PS3 version, which is $10 more than the PC.

I didn’t buy the game with cash, however, which is a consolation. Instead, I used a $75 Reward Zone Certificate from Best Buy that’s about to expire this March 11. Still, I should’ve kept the certificate and saved it for Dragon Age 2. But all the characters in the box cover art, especially The Joker, convinced me with their subliminal sales talk. So, I mindlessly reached out for the box and ran towards the register without looking back.

It may sound like I’m regretting this game but I’m actually enjoying DCUO, which didn’t come as a surprise. After all, I’m a big comic book fan and this game allows you to be a comic book superhero (or villain). I know that it’s not the only comic book themed MMO on the market right now. Champions Online (which went free-to-play a couple weeks ago) and City of Heroes lets you wear tights too.

But what separates DCUO from those games is its trademark setting. It’s not much of a difference, I know. However, if you’re a big fan of DC comics, you’ll have a blast playing this game because it gives you a chance to immerse yourself in its universe. Just imagine, you, a hero or villain, strolling down the streets of Gotham or Metropolis and teaming up with your favorite DC characters. It’s good fun. Even doing quests like “Defeat 10 Joker Henchman” is much more enjoyable in here than doing the traditional “Kill 10 Rats” in other MMO.

Speaking of killing rats, the combat in DCUO is more of an action-fighting game (there are combos) than a typical MMO. So, I pretty much suck at it because: a) I don’t play a lot of action games; and b) I haven’t held a console controller for more than 10 years. It is refreshing though, at least for me, because I don’t have to roll my face on the keyboard in order to kill someone. Also, I’m glad that I bought the PS3 version because playing this on PC will devastate your wrists.

DC Universe Online isn’t for everyone. It’s not the proverbial “WoW Killer”, or any MMO killer at all. In fact, I don’t think this game was made with MMO players in mind. There’s not enough content in here that would hold a hardcore MMO gamer’s attention. But if you’re into the DC comics and you like the campiness of superheroes, like me, DCUO is definitely a game worth checking out.

As for me, I’m actually considering to continue my sub for this game. Maybe grab that Legend pricing before the offer ends. Because, quite frankly, I just love to see the motion comic cutscenes that were  penciled by Jim Lee.

4 Responses to Oh No! I Bought DCUO!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Oh No! I Bought DCUO! « The Frugal Nerd -- Topsy.com

  2. gillboard says:

    this does have a monthly fee attached to it right?

    • Skron says:

      If you get the PS3 version, you get the first 30 days free and then $15 bucks every month after that. You could get the Legend Pricing ($30 for 3 months), which is available until March 1. That’s a lot cheaper.

  3. AyAitch says:

    That’s a great looking costume you’re sporting there! My tank-top sporting hero might be a bit jealous.

    I’ve been immensely enjoying the game as well, and I’m really excited about the Legendary pricing plan. There might not be “enough” content, but my hectic life means I can only play on weekends, so I’m not too concerned.

Leave a Reply

