2011, I Challenge You!

Now, this is the part of my blog where I should post my New Year’s Resolution. But I won’t post it. Instead, I’ll list down a number of doable to impossible challenges that I want to take on this 2011. Nothing too dangerous though. No stuff like jumping from the Sears Willis Tower or eating 17 live scorpions. I know, I know. This sounds a lot like a resolution. So, I won’t refute it. But I’ll still deny it.

I will, however, admit that I borrowed this idea –of announcing a challenge to the whole world, in writing, sealing it in contract. This idea was, of course, from Julie Powell, of the Julie & Julia fame. I saw that movie yesterday with my mom (who’s a huge Meryl Streep fan), and I enjoyed it. While I never really cared about the food part of the film, I thought it was good because it’s the first film I saw that’s about a real-life blogger. And I really liked her challenge. That’s why I copied it.

But, anyways, here are some of the challenges that I want to trump over this year.

1 Song
I’m planning on being a bedroom musician again this year. I’m also hoping that, by the end of 2011, I’d be able to write a song. Nothing sublime though. I don’t have equipment to do that. I’m thinking an instrumental post-metal song, like Pelican, but only with cheap synths, would be doable enough.

5 100% Games
Now, this is probably impossible to do. But I’ll break my back and try to get 100% achievements on 5 games. Those games would be Dragon Age: Origins, Mass Effect 2, Fallout: New Vegas, Red Dead Redemption, and Heavy Rain. I’ve already got some of the achievements in these games but I still have a long way to go.

10 Recipes
Back in 2009, I was cooking a lot. So, I’m a bit disappointed at myself because I didn’t learn a single recipe in 2010. I don’t know what I want to cook yet but I still have tons of recipes to learn on my Personal Trainer: Cooking for the Nintendo DS.

15 Games
In addition to having 100% achievements on 5 games, I also want to be able to finish 15 other games. To start with, I still got 8 games on my back log and 4 on my anticipated games list. The last 3 will be wild cards.

20 Anime
Last year, I’ve started to watch and love anime again. Thanks to Netflix and Crunchy Roll, which provided me with free anime to stream. So, this year, I’m aiming to finish at least 20 series.

25 Songs
This is the precursor to writing my song. Before I could write a decent post-metal song of my own, I need to learn and play 25 post-metal songs first. Because I don’t know the shapes or the flow of their riffs. Plus, my guitar skills is very rusty. So, I need practice to loosen my fingers.

30 Books
I used to read at least 20 books per year. That was when I still had two jobs. Last year, I only read 8 books. My budget just won’t allow me to buy new books. Hopefully, with my Kindle and cheap (even sometimes free) ebooks, I’ll be able to read a whole lot more this year.

100 Blog Post
I only made 71 posts in 2010. Vacation and a couple of hiatuses did that. So, this year, I’m gonna write a least 100 posts in this blog. Vacation or no.

5,000 Player Kills
I only made around 2,000 kills in Warhammer Online, and I spent about a year playing that game. But now that I’m better at player vs. player (PvP), I’m gonna try and kill 5,000 players in RIFT: Planes of Telara. I know that seems a lot. But, believe me, this is the most easiest challenge for me. After beta testing RIFT four times, I know I’ll be spending most of my time playing this game, and maybe getting 100 kills/day.

That’s it. It looks impossible. But, hey, what are challenges if not challenging? So, 2011, bring it on.

4 Responses to 2011, I Challenge You!

  1. WOW! Now I feel bad. I only made 45 blogposts last year. By the way, I used to write songs also, but I since I don’t really play any instruments, what I only have are the lyrics and their tunes in my head (Sometimes I’d record myself singing ’em so as I won’t forget the tunes that I want.).

  2. gillboard says:

    i only have one challenge for myself in 2011… lose weight.

    blog posts is doable. writing 100 posts is easy. :)

    good luck on your other goals. i want to have the same (specially on the games), i just don’t have the time.

  3. PM says:

    yey! good luck with your list, such a cool gamer – and one that cooks too!

Leave a Reply

