Game Sequels Galore in 2011

Reavers in London? Awesome!

I already tried not buying games in full price this year. But it’s really hard not to. In fact, it’s the only thing in my manifesto that I failed to follow. So, I’ve decided that I’ll just buy one new game for every quarter starting 2011.  But even with that rule (or guideline) it’s still going to be hard for me to stick to my frugal ways. Especially that there’s going to be a lot of AAA game sequels that are scheduled to be released next year.

Deus Ex: Human Evolution (which is a prequel, not a sequel) is already on my top list. The Witcher 2, I’ve already pre-ordered at GOG.com. Also, there are two MMORPGs that my guild (Gaiscioch) had their sights on for next year, Guild Wars 2 and RIFT: Planes of Telara (new game, not a sequel). I’m not yet sure which MMO I’ll pick. But I’m leaning towards Guild Wars 2 just because it doesn’t have a subscription fee. Then, there’s Dragon Age 2 to complete all 4 games that I want for next year.

But just when I thought I had it all pinned down, two announcments that were made at Spike’s Video Game Awards messed my list real good. First was BioWare’s announcment of Mass Effect 3, set to be released around this time next year. The second was Bethesda’s announcement of Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, scheduled to be released on 11-11-11. So, yes, we have a lot of big named games for next year. Lots of it, actually, that I don’t know what to pick.

4 Responses to Game Sequels Galore in 2011

  1. gillboard says:

    i’m looking forward to play:

    Uncharted 3, Elder Scrolls 5, Mass Effect 3, and Gears of War 3.

    Too many games, too little time. And budget.

    Sigh

  2. Brian says:

    As for which way I’ll roll with The Gaiscioch crew… its tough. I’ll likely go GW2, for the no sub and the fact that it looks pretty rad. I haven’t made it into the Rift beta, but from what I’ve seen it looks like it may be tempting.

    • Skron says:

      I was lucky to be get into the chance beta of RIFT and I like its ascended class system. So many skill trees to mix and match. So many possibilities.

Leave a Reply

