The $25 Tunes: November 2010

November has always been a month of good sales. Games, books, movies and music, you can get a lot of them at the cheap. Even Amazon’s mp3 prices were at the lowest I’ve ever seen them. They had albums as cheap as $2 during the whole Black Friday Week. Unfortunately, I already have most of the good ones that they put on sale. So I’ve kind of regretted buying those albums earlier this year. But not only did Amazon threw some good music in their bargain bin, they also handed a “$3 off” code when you by an mp3 album from them. Cheapskate that I am, I took off with that code and bought myself some digital music.

Valley of the Smoke by Intronaut – $6
I only found out about this band because of Justine Chancellor [of Tool], who is a guest in their album. Prior to that, I don’t know Intronaut. So I Google’d them. Needless to say, I was so impressed with their sound –a raw and sludgy progressive metal that is infused with lots of jazz tones– that I instantaneously bought their album, Valley of the Smoke, and nominate it as one of the best metal album of 2010.

Score: A

“Elegy” by Intronaut

This is Happening by LCD Soundsystem – $2
Even though I’m a big fan of LCD Soundsytem, I didn’t rush out a couple months ago to buy their critically acclaimed album, This is Happening. Which I’m glad because Amazon had it on sale last week, with a price tag of $2. But this album, even in its full retail price, would still be worth every buck because it’s a lot of fun. Danceable fun with humorous lyrics, and tones that are full of texture as well as melody.

Score: A-

“Drunk Girls” by LCD Soundsystem

Blessed & Cursed by Devil Sold His Soul – $5
Like Intronaut, I didn’t know anything about Devil Sold His Soul. But, with 4 out of 5 star reviews, I took a leap of faith, used Amazon’s discount codes and bought their album. Surprisingly, they’re not a bad band. While their music is without too much experimentation, it’s still hard to pin them down in any category. To sum it up, however, they have the soundscapes of post-metal and vocals of metalcore.

Score: B

“The Disappointment” by Devil Sold His Soul

So that’s it for November. I thought I’d actually be filling this post with more than 3 albums. Especially with all the sales going on. But I guess I got unlucky and only found a couple albums that I really liked. Nonetheless, I only spent $13 for all my albums this month, and that is awesome.

3 Responses to The $25 Tunes: November 2010

  1. kenna says:

    When media is readily downloadable and cheap it makes buying it not hard, like you won’t think whether to buy it or google search it with words “mediafire, rapidshare etc”. Wish they’re always cheap though, I don’t get why they don’t do it when they can lower the prices and somehow lessen piracy.

    • Skron says:

      Cheap is still not free to some people. That’s why piracy will continue to exist.

      As for the price of Mp3’s, I think Amazon has a very reasonable price over iTunes. At least, that’s how I view. Others might still think it’s too expensive.

  2. Brian says:

    Daft Punk Is Playing At My House was my first experience with LCD Soundsystem and I’ve never looked back. Good call. And for 2 bucks? Ridiculous. Not familiar with Intronaut….will give a listen though.

Leave a Reply

