The $25 Tunes: June 2010

June has been a busy month for me. Not of work or anything serious. But I’ve been trying to prepare and organize things before I go on vacation. By prepare and organize, what I meant by that is I’ve been trying to push my character in Warhammer Online to reach renown rank 60 and finish the book I’m currently reading before I leave. So I didn’t really get to follow new music releases and music sales for this month. Which is a good thing because I didn’t go over my budget for June, since already spent a good amount of money on game sales.

Nonetheless, I’m still too much of music aficionado. And I can’t end a month without having bought any music at all. So, for the month of June, here are my $25 tunes:

Treats by Sleigh Bells – $9.50
I raised my brow when I heard that Derek Miller (formerly of post-hardcore band, Poison The Well) is now part of a noise pop duo, called Sleigh Bells. While The music –and the band name– shift was too abrupt for me to swallow, out of curiosity, I bought their album anyways. I’m glad I did because this album is really a treat. It’s poppy, noisy, raw and sweet. An album fit for mosh pits and dance floors.

Score: A

“Tell ‘Em” by Sleigh Bells

Innerspeaker by Tame Impala – $10
Tame Impala is another trio of retro-rockers that hails from Australia. But don’t compare these guys to Wolfmother because they’re leagues away. Their debut album, Innerspeaker, is the grooviest album I’ve heard this 2010. It has all the psychedelic flavor and stoner vibe of the late 60’s and, yet, it sounds so new that’ll make you think they’re from the past brought into our time.

Score: A-

“Solitude is Bliss” by Tame Impala

Billy Idol: Greatest Hits by Billy Idol – $5
To cap the $25, I bought Billy Idol’s Greatest Hits. While I consider Billy Idol to be one of the great rock icons, I was never really too crazy about him. That’s why I don’t have any of his albums. So his greatest hits is perfect for me. It has all of his popular singles, the ones that I like: White Wedding and Rebel Yell. Plus, it only costs $5. So it’s cheap enough for me to own.

Score: B-

“Rebel Yell” by Billy Idol

So there, my $25 tunes (it’s only $24.50, actually) for this month. It really feels great not to go over budget. I feel rather accomplished. Hopefully, I’ll do the same next month. The downside to this, however, is that I haven’t discovered cool new bands –besides Sleigh Bells and Tame Impala– out there.

Leave a Reply

