Heroines in Fishnet Stockings

My 12 year-old goddaughter is an avid reader who consumes at least one book a week (thanks to Twilight‘s influence). Just recently, when she found my stash of funny books while visiting me, she also discovered the joy of reading and collecting comic books. As her godfather, I took this news as a double-edged sword: It’s both good and bad. Good, because I feel like I’m doing my job of raising a proper nerdess. Bad, especially for a frugal nerd, because I promised to supply her ALL the books she wanted.

Luckily, she only read my Justice League of America books and liked two of its characters: Black Canary and Zatanna. Coincidentally, both heroines wear black coats and fishnet stockings. Also, they’re not with the JLA anymore and are starring in their own books, Black Canary in Birds of Prey Vol. 2 and Zatanna on her new ongoing series. Both books only came out last May and are currently on issue #2 (as of this writing). I figured these books would be the perfect jumping point for her if she wants to get in the comic geek wagon. So, two more comic books added to my pull list –the list that I worked so hard on trimming down just last month!

Zatanna (L) and Black Canary (R)

Anyways, I’m not really into these kind of books. But, being a responsible adult, I read and scanned the books before I handed them to my goddaughter just in case there’s some “sensitive” material present in them. Surprisingly, however, I found the books to be pretty good reads.

Birds of Prey
I always wanted to read Birds of Prey because I’m a big fan of the Huntress (she’s kick-ass). Though I didn’t bother myself with it. I didn’t want my pull list to grow wild with non-major titles. But after reading the first two issues of the new volume, I realized that I missed out on a lot of good stuff. Birds of Prey is mostly about female characters, hard-ass ones like the Black Canary and the Huntress. But beneath their fist fights and trash-talking, they’re still women who gives in to their emotions and sexuality.

Zatanna
In truth, I really don’t know much about Zatanna. Except that she’s one of the biggest magic user in JLA and one of Batman’s closest friend. But, even without knowing too much about the character, I didn’t have any trouble reading the new ongoing series. In fact, the character is kind of growing on me. She’s bold and fearless. Just walks right in to her enemy’s territory, shakes things up a little bit and leave.

Overall, I think I picked the right books for a 12 year-old girl. Because both Zatanna and the Birds of Prey are kicking butts while still being sexy and smart girls. But, while I’m ecstatic that she’s getting into comics, I’m praying that these two books would be enough to satiate my goddaughter’s thirst for reading. I also hope that she won’t ask me to give her all my JLA collection. Because I don’t know if I have it in me to say no.

The image “Stockings” is taken from Travis Charest Gallery

2 Responses to Heroines in Fishnet Stockings

  1. Kevin says:

    Now that’s nice of Twilight to influence your goddaughter in reading. :D A book a week is awesome!

    • Skron says:

      Yeah, that’s why I’m not too harsh on Twilight. Most people vilify the shit out of it. But that book was intended for young adults.

      Anyways, yeah, that kid can read. She doesn’t ask for anything else except for books. Her collection will probably surpass mine by the end of the year if she continues this.

Leave a Reply

