E3 2010: My Favorite Games

Electronic Entertainment Expo 2010, or E3 2010, came and went by so quickly that I didn’t had the time to follow it thoroughly. So now I’m left drinking a lot of information and watching videos of last week’s show from various websites. While the whole ordeal almost left me brain drained, I have to say there are a lot of good games that will be coming out in the near future that will really test my frugality. Here are some of those games:

Star Wars: The Old Republic

Star Wars: The Old Republic
What happens when you bring Star Wars, the biggest nerd franchise, in the MMO arena under BioWare, the best RPG developer of all times? You get a game that’s going to shave World of Warcraft‘s subscribers down to a million, and I say that with much conviction. Especially after I saw videos that proves this game’s production value pushes the envelope too high up than your standard MMORPG. It has a story to tell, the presentation is cinematic and all of the non-playable characters are fully voiced. I haven’t played any MMO with features like that.

But what really convinced me into wanting to play this game are the War Zones. War Zones, as I understand it, work’s like Warhammer Online’s scenarios in where your team would enter and attack/defend objectives against an opposing faction. I haven’t heard any news about large scale faction vs. faction though, like WAR’s realm vs. realm. But, since BioWare is now in charge of Mythic, I do hope that they take notes from them and apply it into this game as well.

I don’t know when this game is due. But, right now, I’m already saving money and vacation hours. So, when it comes out, I will be able to afford it and play it for a whole straight month without interruptions.

Fallout: New Vegas
I’m a big fan of Fallout games, especially the ones that were developed by Black Isle Studios. Though I wasn’t too crazy about Fallout 3, it was still a good addition to the franchise because of its beautiful game world. Fallout: Vegas, however, is an effort of both former and current developer of the Fallout franchise as Bethsoft hands the reins to Obsidian Entertainment (which consists of former Black Isle Studios developers) to develop it. So there are plenty of reasons I’m excited about it. But for starters, I’m pretty sure this has a better storyline compared to Fallout 3 and New Vegas just looks so amazing.

Deus Ex 3: Human Evolution
Deus Ex is my #1 game of all times. It’s sequel, Deus Ex: The Invisible War, while I still enjoyed it, fell way too short of my expectations. But after I saw the trailer of Deux Ex 3: Human Evolution and reading a bit about its demo, I can now relax as I am assured this game will deliver some quite of kick-assery. Set before the first two games, Deus Ex 3’s cyberpunk world looks really grim and reminds me a lot of the film Blade Runner. The gameplay is also true to the Deus Ex franchise where you can solve a problem in multiple ways, depending on your style. Talk the guards to quit their jobs, sneak around them or just a bullet in each of their heads with your pistol that is mounted on your cybernetic arm. So looking forward to play this game.

Shogun 2: Total War
Shogun, Medieval 2 and Napoleon are about the only games of the Total War series that I haven’t played. While I don’t care too much about Medieval 2 and Napoleon, not having played Shogun was a loss for me since I’m a big fan of Total War and Japanese history -particularly feudal Japan. That is why I’m so glad that Creative Assembly decided to revisit this series and give us Shogun 2 again. I don’t know much about the game, however. I’m just glad that somebody is developing a game about Samurais. That and you can never go wrong with Creative Assembly and their Total War series of games.

Civilization V
It’s the fifth installment of the Civilization series, the most addicting strategy game of all time, and that’s my only reason for wanting to play this game. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, go grab a Civ game and find out why I don’t need to explain myself. Seriously.

That’s that, my favorite games that were previewed in E3 2010. I actually want more games to be added in here, like The Witcher 2 or Warhammer 40K: Dark Millenium Online, as well as the Nintendo 3DS. But I think I won’t be buying those games unless they become cheap. So I’ll just sit them out on this post. So what about you, what were your favorite games in E3 2010?

One Response to E3 2010: My Favorite Games

  1. gillboard says:

    i’m looking forward to Kinetic for xbox 360.

Leave a Reply

