One Game to Rule Us All

You just got to love Turbine. First, they turned Dungeon & Dragons Online into a free-to-play game so us cheapskates can get our MMO fix without costing us a penny. However, the game will lock you out from high level adventures once you reach level 4. So you need to work hard and earn favor points to unlock those adventure packs, or you could take the easy way and use real money to buy them. My guess would be that most people are taking the easy route, turning DDO into a cash maker with those micro transactions, because now Turbine has also decided to make Lord of the Rings Online a free-to-play game.

My old Lord of the Rings Online screenshot.

LOTRO going free is definitely a good news for a frugal gamer like me. As many of you don’t know, LOTRO was my first MMO experience (yes, I’m a noob to the scene) and the game that changed my views about MMORPG in general (and World of Warcraft ruined it). It’s also my favorite MMO next to Warhammer Online. There’s so many things I loved about this game. The dungeons, the story and the lore -especially the lore- were all astounding. So I’m really excited to get back into the game without paying for it.

Don’t take my word on this, however. If haven’t played the game before, and you’re curious about it, you can sign up for the beta here.

Leave a Reply

