The $25 Tunes: May 2010

If you read my manifesto (which can be found here) a few posts back, then you know that I plan on limiting my music budget to $25 a month. That’s like half of what I used to spend. Honestly, I don’t like this one bit since it’s the hardest part of the manifesto to keep. I’m a big music aficionado after all. There’s just so much music out there that I want to buy, not download illegally. But I have to abide by my own rules. If I break one, especially the one about music, then I think I’m gonna go downward spiral to being overly capitalistic again. Which means I’ll have to work another job to keep my hobbies.

So, in order to prevent myself from browsing and impulsively buying new albums on Amazon Mp3, I think I’ll just focus on writing about the monthly music that I bought with my $25. And without further ado, I present my $25 tunes for May 2010:

High Violet by The National – $6
I’ve enjoyed every bit of music made by The National ever since I’ve heard of them. Their albums Alligator and Boxer were just phenomenal, in music and lyrics. High Violet didn’t disappoint either. The lyrics here carries a great deal of weight about life, and not about drugs or booze that most rock bands sing about. All the songs are also performed in a melancholic manner that will spellbind you to the album.

Score: A

“Bloodbuzz Ohio” by The National

A Determinism of Morality by Rosetta – $7
I never really got into Rosetta before. But since I can’t seem to quench my thirst for post-metal these days, I’m willing to listen to any band just to get my post-metal fix. Hence, Rosetta. Surprisingly, A Determinism of Morality turned out to be a heck of an album. It has everything I love about post-metal: sludgy riffs and atmospheric sounds, and how the two transit from one to another and then back. Amazing.

Score: B+

“Revolve” by Rosetta

Volume Two by She & Him – $5
She & Him’s music isn’t really my cup of tea. But why do I own a copy of their second album, Volume Two (and also Volume One)? Two reasons: Zooey Deschanel (the actress from (500) Days of Summer, Elf, etc.) and the album only costs $5. But honestly, the sunny oldies pop appeal of this duo is growing on me. Slowly, but steadily growing.

Score: C

“In The Sun” by She & Him

Diamond Eyes by Deftones – $8
(see my review here)

Well, that’s what I bought with my $25 (although the total of all these albums is actually $26) for this month. All in all, I think it was a great month. I’m happy with even just Diamond Eyes and High Violet playing on my PC or iPod. These albums are just terrific to listen to. It’d be real stupid of you if you don’t get them for yourselves.

4 Responses to The $25 Tunes: May 2010

  1. I dunno any of these albums. :(

    • Skron says:

      That why I write about these kinds of music, the underground ones, to expose more people to it. Because they’re good, better than the ones they play on the radio and MTV.

  2. Kevin says:

    Why don’t you download pirated albums through mediafire?! Hrhr

Leave a Reply

