Gathering Magic

Magic: The Gathering

I have a godson who grew up playing the Pokemon collectible card game (CCG). I remember him and his younger cousins would always play with their deck of Pokemon cards wherever and whenever they can. But the last time I saw my godson, specifically last Christmas, I noticed him sitting in the corner while his cousins played with their cards. So I asked him if he was alright. He told me yes, and that he’s only playing a different game now. Then he proceeded to show me his new deck, which were now composed of Magic: The Gathering cards instead of Pokemon.

Being a former ‘Magickero’ myself, I can’t help but be excited that my godson is playing the game. It even rekindled my interest of playing Magic again. But then playing Magic means spending a lot of money, and I don’t really want to add another hobby to my belt. So being a cheapskate that I am, I decided not to go on and build a deck. Even though it would mean my godson would be bored and be without a proper opponent during family/friend gatherings.

But then an opportunity to acquire some free Magic cards presented itself when I attended the Chicago Comics and Entertainment Expo (or C2E2) last month. Unlike other comics convention I’ve attended, C2E2 volunteers are nice enough to give you a loot bag if they see you’re not holding one. The loot bag contained some comics, discount cards, a book and a 30-card Magic: The Gathering deck. So every time they handed me a bag, I’d just take the deck and threw everything else away. I did this about 6 times and went home with 6 decks (2 Blacks, 2 Reds, a Blue and a Green), allowing me to construct my own deck.

From what cards I’ve gathered, I was able to construct a Red/Black deck that is similar to the old Killer Deck. Take a look:

Spells

  • 4 Terror
  • 4 Shock
  • 4 Incinerate
  • 2 Lava Axe
  • 2 Blaze
  • 2 Kindled Fury
  • 2 Unholy Strength
  • 2 Assassinate
  • 1 Diabolic Tutor
  • 1 Recover

Creatures

  • 4 Scathe Zombies
  • 4 Spineless Thug
  • 4 Flamekin Brawler
  • 4 Lightning Elemental
  • 2 Wall of Fire
  • 2 Drudge Skeleton
  • 2 Hill Giant
  • 2 Axegrinder Giant

So what do you think? Not bad for a free deck, right? I haven’t tried this with my godson yet. But I think it’ll have a chance of winning. Now, if only have some Dark Rituals and Hidden Horrors.

Leave a Reply

