Spartacus: Sex and Violence

Spartacus: Blood and Sand

When I saw the trailer for Spartacus: Blood and Sand, earlier this year, I thought it was just another Spartacus story that is overly done with flairs like the 300 visual style, Tarantino-esque violence and tons of sex scenes. So I skipped it. But when I found out that it was readily available for streaming at Netflix, I got curious and watched it. Turned out I was right and wrong about the TV series.

As I had initially thought, in order to coat the thin story, this series is filled with gratuitous sex and violence. The first episodes, especially, were riddled with filler scenes of wagging tongues, sagging tits and hanging cocks. The good thing, however, is that the actors and actresses were good looking. So it made me feel I was watching a sexploitation film with a high production value. Then there’s the copious amounts of blood and gore. While it is entertaining to see a gladiator squirt 20 liters of blood and spill five miles of gut in the arena, it becomes to repetitive and predictable.

I was wrong about the story though. Because even it was stretched thin to cover an entire season, it was not without merit. One of the things I like about this series is the progression of Spartacus’ story from a Roman auxiliary to becoming the Champion of Capua. His journey was just filled with stubborn hope, anguish, betrayal and a lot of kick-assery. But the best part about Spartacus: Blood and Sand is that they actually put much spotlight on Batiatus (Spartacus’ master) and his wife Lucretia. I love watching how this couple played their games just to attain their ambitions. Their deviousness, their deceptions, their cunning. It was all fun.

Spartacus: Blood and Sand is not historically accurate (which I don’t really care about) nor can be called epic. But, overall, it is a very entertaining TV. While it started out slow, and its story was diluted with 3 hours of  sex and violence the entire season, I think it still went pretty well. The actors were great. Especially Lucy Lawless (Lucretia) and John Hannah (Batiatus), who were exemplary in playing their parts. Then there’s also Andy Whitfield (Spartacus) who is -and I’m not ashamed to say it- a smart and sexy beast. I think I’m going to stay and watch its season two, and so should you.

Score: B-

2 Responses to Spartacus: Sex and Violence

  1. the scud says:

    i’ll put this on my queue. need to finish hundreds of episodes of my other favorite tv shows. good luck to me. :D

Leave a Reply

